top of page

Poison Pill


I absorbed your words - they were so sweet

I ate them up, but they made me bleed

Your reverie and pretty little lies

hidden behind those perfect eyes

the perfect disguise

cutting me up

from the inside

Shards of hatred

for yourself or me, who knows

slicing through tissue and my exposed

heart

just ripping it apart

the sweet pill of companionship

swallowed greedily

wanting to be understood

loving someone needing me

your poison pleasing me

but your beautiful words turned sour

your hatred devouring

the sweet memory

of what might be

until all that remains

is the same old pain

the same sad rattle

of a solitary pill

fighting its own battle

in its isolated apartment

of plastic on a cold glass shelf

in a cabinet of

poisonous disappointments.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page