top of page

Renovations


This process of revolution or reconstruction is painful, beautiful and surprising. I am a renovation in progress. The stained linoleum floor was peeling at the edges. I wept. It was the only floor I'd ever known. Our feet danced softly across that floor to the soundless song of love. I mopped your blood from that floor after I held you in my weeping arms. I swept the crumbs from our late night cooking lessons. I only ever remembered that floor. But the corners were lifting on their own. I breathed a deep, terrified sigh and ripped back the linoleum.

Underneath was the most beautiful, natural, hardwood floor. It fit the feng shui of the house more than the linoleum ever did.

Add some new windows to let in the light, and I am transformed.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
bottom of page